Bhupendra Patel sworn in as Chief Minister

Bhupendra Patel, a first-time MLA, was sworn in as Gujarat Chief Minister on Monday. Vijay Rupani had abruptly resigned two days ago, almost a year before the Assembly elections.

Patel, 59, was unanimously elected as the leader of the BJP Legislative Party on Sunday. He was sworn in as the 17th Chief Minister of the state by Governor Acharya Devvrat at a function held at Raj Bhavan.

Along with Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Chief Ministers of Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Goa and Karnataka Manoharlal Khattar, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Pramod Sawant and Basavaraj Bommai were present on the occasion. Patel’s predecessor Vijay Rupani and former Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel were also present.

Only Patel took the oath as decided by the party. Sources in the BJP said that the swearing-in ceremony will take place in the next few days after the names in the cabinet are finalized.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Patel on his swearing in as Chief Minister. Whether in the BJP organization, or in civic administration and community service, I have seen their exemplary work. He will definitely take Gujarat on the path of development, tweeted Modi.

The governor had on Sunday accepted Patel’s proposal to form a new government and invited him to be sworn in as chief minister.

Election preparations

With the Assembly elections in Gujarat set to take place in December 2022, the BJP is all set to win over Patidar Samaj leader Patel. In the 2017 elections, the BJP had won 99 out of 182 seats, while the Congress had won 77 seats.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.