First woman Chief Justice in 2027? Center stamps all 9 recommendations of collegium

The recommendations of the Supreme Court Collegium have been approved by the Central Government. In this, 9 names were sent for the appointment of judges in the Supreme Court. Approving the names, the central government has now sent those files to President Ram Nath Kovind.

With this, the way has also been cleared for India to get the first woman Chief Justice. Justice BV Nagarathna’s name has also been sent in the names of these 9 judges. Who can also become Chief Justice in future. According to sources in the Ministry of Justice, it is expected that next week all the judges in the Supreme Court will also be sworn in.

Appointment of 9 judges in the Supreme Court will bring a lot of relief. Because in the last ten years, the minimum number of judges in the total number of judges is still working. There is a total sanctioned strength of 34 judges in the Supreme Court. At present, 24 judges are looking after the work. One seat will remain vacant even after the arrival of 9 judges.

3 women judges included in the proposed 9 judges

Of the nine names that have been proposed by the collegium, three are women judges. After the arrival of Justice BV Nagarathna, Justice Hima Kohli and Justice Bela Trivedi, there will be four women judges including Justice Indira Banerjee, who is already serving here.

Justice Nagratna will be the first CJI of the country in 2027. At the same time, PS Narasimha is becoming a Supreme Court judge directly from the bar. In fact, the Supreme Court Collegium, comprising Chief Justice N V Ramana, Justice U U Lalit, Justice A M Khanwilkar, Justice DY Chandrachud and Justice L Nageswara Rao, on August 17, appointed eight high court judges and one judge for promotion to the Supreme Court. 9 names including advocate were recommended.

These include Justice Vikram Nath (Gujarat), Justice AS Oka (Karnataka), Justice Hima Kohli (Telangana) and Justice

JK Maheshwari (Sikkim). While four High Court judges, Justice BV Nagarathna (Karnataka), Justice

MM Sundresh (Madras), Justices CT Ravikumar (Kerala), Bela M Trivedi (Gujarat), and senior advocate and former ASG PS Narasimha have been named.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.