Pakistan’s insistence on including Taliban in SAARC summit; Meeting of foreign ministers canceled after opposition from members

The SAARC foreign ministers’ meeting has finally been canceled due to Pakistan’s love for the Taliban. Ahead of the crucial SAARC foreign ministers’ meeting, Pakistan had insisted that the Taliban, which controls Afghanistan, be included in the meeting. The meeting was organized by video conferencing in 2020 due to Corona. After that, the meeting was to be held in the presence of the actual leaders. However, the meeting was canceled due to Pakistan’s demand.

India, along with some other members, objected to Pakistan’s proposal and the meeting was canceled due to lack of consensus. At this time, Nepal had the responsibility of convening the UN General Assembly. The ministers of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) were scheduled to meet on September 25. But this meeting has been canceled. After the meeting was canceled, Nepal’s foreign minister said in a statement that the meeting was canceled due to disagreement among all members.

The Taliban has not yet received recognition from India. The new regime in Kabul has not yet been recognized by the world, and joint cabinet ministers have been blacklisted by the United Nations. Amir Khan Muttaki is the acting foreign minister of the Taliban-led government in Afghanistan and is unlikely to attend the United Nations and related conventions.

The informal cabinet meeting of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) was scheduled to be held in person in New York on September 25 during the 76th session of the UN General Assembly. An official letter has now been issued to cancel the SAARC summit. At this year’s meeting, Foreign Minister S Jaishankar was to discuss the situation in Afghanistan, including terrorist activities in Pakistan.

At a meeting of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) last week, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said the Taliban was a comprehensive government that the world should consider before accepting or recognizing the regime in Afghanistan. He also noted that in Kabul, women and minorities are not represented in government.

SAARC is an organization of eight countries in South Asia: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. A majority of SAARC members agreed during the meeting to leave space for Afghanistan. However, Pakistan did not agree and the meeting was canceled.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.